Six-team T20 franchise competition begins at Dubai International Stadium from Wednesday

Players and organisers of an innovative new women’s cricket tournament set for launch in Dubai this week say they hope it will help grow the sport beyond its traditional heartlands.

The FairBreak Invitational is a six-team, T20 franchise competition, which will run for 11 days at the Dubai International Stadium, starting on Wednesday.

The 90 players involved are drawn from over 30 different countries. While established powers of the game such as Australia, England and West Indies are all represented, so too are the likes of Vanuatu and Bhutan, while there are also four players from UAE.